Header Media

Three people, two in suits and one in a dress, stand next to each other and smile
Two adults speak to two students in a room with sports team photographs on the walls
Several adults smile, posing in front of an A Better Chance step and repeat.


Our work simply wouldn't be possible without the above-and-beyond efforts of our incredibly hard-working volunteer Board and our small but mighty team of employees. 



Theo Killion

Retired Chief Executive Officer, Zale Corporation
The Hill School, 1970*

Vice Chairs

Gregory T. Durant

Vice Chairman & Deputy CEO, Deloitte & Touche, USA, LLP

A. Louis Parker

Retired Corporate Vice President, General Electric
Philips Academy, Class of 1973*


Keith Evans

President, The Westminster School

Darrell Ford

Senior Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer, DuPont

Roxane Gay

Writer/Associate Professor
Phillips Exeter Academy, 1992*

Michelle Gittens

National Advisory Council Chair, Phillips Academy Andover, 1999*

Gennell Jefferson

Managing Director, State Street Global Advisors

Allison Lawrence

Chief Of Staff
Stanley Black & Decker

Sheila Marmon

Founder & CEO, Mirror Digital
Cate School, 1990*

Star McDade

Vice President & Portfolio General Auditor, American Express

Suzan Morno-Wade

Executive Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer, Xerox

Francisco Tezén

President & Chief Executive Officer

Rhonda Trotter

Partner, Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer, LLP
The Hotchkiss School, 1979*

Kurt Van Wagenen

President & CEO, FirstLight Fiber


Peter Allan Atkins

Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP
* Denotes A Better Chance Alumni


The National Advisory Council is a group of professionals under 40 dedicated to helping A Better Chance carry out its mission to increase substantially the number of well-educated young people of color who are capable of assuming positions of responsibility and leadership in American society. Founded in 2009, the goal of the Council is to initiate and boost engagement for A Better Chance through a combination of fundraising and volunteer efforts. Each year the Council hosts The Rising Stars Awards to celebrate the accomplishments of rising professionals of color.

For information on joining the National Advisory Council, please contact Nicole Bouknight Johnson, National Director of Development and Communications, at nbjohnson@abetterchance.org or 646-346-1356.

Council Leadership

Michelle Gittens

National Advisory Council Chair, Phillips Academy Andover, 1999*

Council Members

Lisa Brice

BurgherGray LLP

David Cox

New Canaan A Better Chance, 2005*

Nicole Madison

FTI Consulting
Ethel Walker, 1999*

Nicole Melwood

Northfield Mount Hermon School, 2001*

Jarron Smith


Regwood Snipes

Hogan Lovells US LLP
Deerfield Academy, 2005*

Jasmine Wade

New York University
Westminster School, 2006*
* Denotes A Better Chance Alumni


Small but Mighty

Our staff, which works from our headquarters in New York and often the road, is listed below by category.

If you do not know who specifically can best help you, use our more general contact information:

Contact Us