Virtual Luncheon

The Creating Leaders for a Lifetime Virtual Luncheon replaces the canceled 2020 A Better Chance Annual Awards Luncheon and ensures we can recognize the successes of our Scholars, Alumni and champions. Each year, the A Better Chance Annual Awards Luncheon generates over $1 million in funding crucial to preparing our students for the Member School admission process. Your support will help ensure we can continue providing these crucial services. 

Watch the entire Virtual Luncheon below!

Innovator Award Recipient

Brian Kreiter
Bridgewater Associates

The Innovator Award recognizes a member of our community transforming great ideas into innovations holding a significant impact on solving community challenges and providing opportunities. His commitment to providing equal opportunity is inspiring and solidifies his place as a true leader and builder of dreams.

Senior Scholar Award Recipients

Savannah Shepherd
Judith Berry Griffin Award

Sanford School
Hometown: Hockessin, DE

The Judith Berry Griffin Award, named for Judith Berry Griffin, President of A Better Chance from 1982–2003, carries with it a monetary award of $5,000 and is awarded to a senior who has shown exceptional and steadfast determination to achieve. The recipient demonstrates success through perseverance toward personal objectives, in spite of obstacles that might have impeded his or her progress.

Click Here to meet Savannah!

Yasmine Jaffier-Williams
Nancy J. Lucas Memorial Award

Wellesley A Better Chance
Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

The Nancy J. Lucas Memorial Award was established in loving memory of our Senior Program Coordinator who served the New York Metro Area from 1985 to 2002. Ms. Lucas’s family, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority sisters, A Better Chance colleagues, and countless Alumni who benefited from her services have endowed this award. The award, and the $3,500 that accompanies it, is given to a Scholar who demonstrates leadership in promoting equity and justice at his or her school or offers special encouragement to peers.

Click Here to meet Yasmine!

Bella Guel

Menlo School
Hometown: Atherton, CA

Dylan Blackett

Academe of the Oaks
Hometown: Decatur, GA

Nicholas Crawford

Kent School
Hometown: New York, NY

Nancy Xu

The Spence School
Hometown: New York, NY

Joyce Jogwe

Sage Hill School
Hometown: Santa Ana, CA

Julissa Acevedo

Ridgefield A Better Chance
Hometown: Bridgeport, CT

Support the Virtual Luncheon!

Thank You To Our Sponsors

A Better Chance’s work is not possible without the generous support of our donors and partners. We thank the following individuals, Alumni and institutional and corporate partners who made significant contributions to Creating Leaders for a Lifetime.

Broadcast Sponsor
Bridgewater Associates

Streaming Sponsor
Laurie and Peter Allan Atkins
Costas Family Foundation
Theo and Dana Killion
Henry R. Kravis
Ronald R. and Mary H. Pressman
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Stanley Black & Decker

Live Sponsor
American Express Foundation
Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Comstar Supply
Kurt and Roxanna Van Wagenen

Deans List Sponsor
Bertha Coombs
Trinh C. Du
Roger Ferguson and Annette Nazareth
Innisfree M&A Incorporated
Gennell A. Jefferson
Joele Frank, Wilkinson Brimmer, Katcher
Robert H. and Kate S. Niehaus
Sheila M. Marmon

Salutatorian Sponsor
Lloyd M. Abramowitz
Cristina Antelo
The Bank Street Group
Curtis H. Barnette
Brian & Joelle Kelly Family Foundation
Vivian O. Berger
Eric and Stacy Cochran
Charles M. and Karen Couric
The Dapa Foundation
Daphne J. Dufresne
Blair and Cheryl Effron
James A. and Alise Ferency
Eric and Lori Friedman
Harrison J. Goldin
A. Richard and Anne Janiak
Robert A. and Sydney Kindler
Kiwi Partners
Keith D. Krakaur
Neil Leff
LightRiver Technologies, Inc
Steven R. Lipin
Robert and Maryann Marston
Tim and Deborah McChristian
Michael W. Mitchell
Amy and Joe Perella Charitable Fund
Robert Pincus
P.O.W.E.R Foundation, Inc
Miriam Rivera
Michael P. Rogan
The Schwartz Family Foundation
Erv and Louise Shames
David R. Smith
The Smith and Kushmerick Family Fund
Ronald L. Thompson
Glen and Lynn Tobias
Stephen M. Wolf
Earle and Elizabeth Yaffa
Frank D. Yeary