Header Media

Several people stand talking before a resource table
Two adults at a podium in front of a blue curtain smile and make triumphant gestures.
A student and an adult pose smiling in front of A Better Chance Northwest logos
Several adults smile, posing in front of an A Better Chance step and repeat.

2019 A Better Chance Awards Luncheon

Thank You to All Who Made the 2019 A Better Chance Awards Luncheon a Success


Luncheon Cocktail Hour
Luncheon Cocktail Hour Cailtin Chen
Jim Loree and His Wife at the A Better Chance Luncheon
Chairman's Award Winner Jim Loree receiving his award
Becky Sykes and Bertha at the 2019 A Better Chance Luncheon
Ellis and His Godfather
Bertha Coombs Remarks
Kurt Van Wagenen Speaking at the 2019 A Better Chance Awards Luncheon
Sarah Camacho speaking at the 2019 A Better Chance Luncheon
Caitlin Chen Speaking at the 2019 A Better Chance Luncheon
Award Recipient Leon %22Ellis%22 Clark Speaking
Dominic Yin Speaking at the 2019 A Better Chance Awards
Bertha Coombs and Gabrielle Battle



Our Honorees

Chairman's Award 
James Loree
President & Chief Executive Officer
Stanley Black & Decker

Presented for the first time in 1989, the Chairman’s Award is bestowed to a current or former Chief Executive Officer who demonstrates a commitment to creating educational opportunities for talented young people of color.


The Benjamin E. Mays Award, established in 1994 to memorialize the late President of Morehouse College, is frequently awarded to an educator or supporter of education whose principles of personal commitment, integrity, achievement and concern for others reflect those of Dr. Mays.

Our Award Winners

Helen Tamrat
Judith Berry Griffin Award

Episcopal Academy 
Hometown: Upper Darby, PA

Gabrielle Battle
Nancy J. Lucas Memorial Award

The College Preparatory School 
Hometown: Oakland, CA

Academic Achievement Award Winners

Sarah Camacho

San Francisco University High School
Novarto, CA

Kristen Palmer

Poly Prep Country Day School
Brooklyn, NY

Caitlin Chen

The Archer School for Girls
Los Angeles, CA

Leroya Sanford

New Roads School
Los Angeles, CA

Dominic Yin

Phillips Academy 
Andover, MA

Leon "Ellis" Clark

St. Paul's School
Detroit, MI

Naima Turbes

The Westminster Schools
Atlanta, GA

Thank You To Our Sponsors

A Better Chance’s work is not possible without the generous support of our donors and partners. We thank the following individuals, Alumni and institutional and corporate partners who made significant contributions to the 2019 A Better Chance Awards Luncheon.

Presenting Sponsor
Stanley Black & Decker

Valedictorian Sponsors
Costas Family Foundation

Summa Cum Laude Sponsors
American Express
Laurie and Peter A. Atkins
The Boeing Company
Francisco L. Borges
Robert and Dana Emery Family Foundation
Ernst & Young
Dana and Theo Killion
Mary and Ron Pressman
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
The Xerox Corporation

Magna Cum Laude Sponsors
Peter and Barbara Georgescu
Morrison & Foerster LLP
Kurt and Roxanne Van Wagenen

Cum Laude Sponsors
Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Bank Street
Gladstone Place Partners
Carla A. Harris
LightRiver Technologies, Inc.
Morgan Stanley
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
State Street Corporation

Dean’s List Sponsors
Comstar Supply
Innisfree M&A Incorporated
Joele Frank, Wilkinson, Brimmer, Katcher
Jillian E. Joseph
Major League Baseball Players Association
David R. Smith
Paul J. Taubman
Todd Cable Construction LLC
Rhonda R. Trotter
Willis Tower Watson
Oprah Winfrey Foundation

Salutatorian Sponsors
Virginia Aaron
Lloyd Abramowitz
ADP, Inc.
William Barnet, III
Vivian O. Berger, Esq.
Kerry D. Chandler
Stacy and Eric Cochran
Dan Klores Communications
Blair and Cheryl Effron
Kieth Evans
Eric and Laurie Friedman
Joseph Frumkin
David B. Henry
The Robert and Sydney Kindler Foundation
Matthew Serkes
Orlando Knauss
Neil M. Leff
Loida N. Lewis
Sherman Meachem
Suzan Morno-Wade
P.O.W.E.R. Foundation, Inc.
Michael Rogan
Paul Schnell
Alan and Nancy Schwartz
Robert C. Sheehan
Thomson Reuters
Glen and Lynn Tobias
The V & L Marx Foundation
Peter Weinberg
Stephen M. Wolf
Earle and Barbara Yaffa

You Can Still Make a Contribution to the Crowdfunding Campaign!

Thanks to all of you, we surpassed our original online crowdfunding goal of $8,100. Our new goal is $16,200. This will allow us to identify, place, and support an additional three A Better Chance Scholars. There's still time to Make An Impact Now! The crowdfunding fundraiser will remain open until Saturday, June 29 so be sure to make your contribution as soon as possible.